Archive > 2009 > September
A Table of Contents for News.

 
Tuesday, September 01, 2009
"He's a man-child, with a heavy butt, good for a hockey player." - Mike Babcock.
Wednesday, September 02, 2009

Thursday, September 03, 2009
"...like the puck calling the friction tape black" - nytimes.com's Stu Hackel on the NHL's distaste for Jim Balsillie.
Friday, September 04, 2009
"My job is to play hockey and I don't worry about that stuff. When my agent phones me and lets me know what's on the table, then I'll pay attention. No, it wouldn't be a distraction to me, not at all. I want to win and I want to stay here." - Ryan Kesler.
Monday, September 07, 2009
"You look at the way the game is played today and it's all speed, What we've learned in camp is how smart he (16 year old London, Ontario Native Michael Whaley) is. He's got great hockey sense." - Windsor Spitfire GM Warren Rychel.
Tuesday, September 08, 2009
"I do not contemplate an offer sheet to Phil Kessel at this time." - Leaf's GM Brian Burke.
Wednesday, September 09, 2009
"Obviously he is a great player and obviously he helps us win hockey games. When you miss a guy like that, there is going to be holes to fill. But then again, we have got guys like [Marco Sturm] coming back who will be able to fill roles like that." - Marc Savard (On Possible ex-Bruin Phil Kessel)).
Thursday, September 10, 2009
"Nobody can say to me, "You can't play for your country in the Olympic Games"." - Some guy named Ovechkin.
Friday, September 11, 2009
"It's been compared to playing for the New York Yankees or a major soccer team like Man U. You see how passionate people are." - Scott Gomez.
Monday, September 14, 2009
"I feel pretty poorly, to be right honest with you. I just don't think I've been treated right. I gave it 100 percent try and I feel betrayed by the NHL" - Coyotes Owner Jerry Moyes.
Tuesday, September 15, 2009
"People like that kind of hockey. You're skating and moving the puck and it's fun to play and I think it's fun to watch" - Jay Bouwmeester on 'Alberta Hockey'.
Wednesday, September 16, 2009
"We'll be looking for another center. He's an important player for this organization. But we have to expect that. I'm getting used to this, missing the top player." - Jacques Lemaire.
Thursday, September 17, 2009
"I play golf like the Sutters play hockey. I slash and whack." - Brian Trottier.
Friday, September 18, 2009
"I'm not sure they had the best interest of that kid at heart because they put him in the National Hockey League -- and he didn't play. He should have been playing junior hockey." - Pat Quinn on Gilbert Brule.
Saturday, September 19, 2009
"There is no question about him as a hockey player, there is no question about him as a man, and we're proud to have him here." - Doug Wilson Assessing Dany Heatley.
Sunday, September 20, 2009
"They just love hockey here in Toronto. It's one of the reasons I chose Minnesota in college. In Minnesota, they love hockey. It's the No. 1 sport. Here in Toronto, hockey's it." - Wealthy Chap Phil Kessel.
Monday, September 21, 2009
"Gretzky's salary alone is responsible for as much as 25 per cent of the team's annual losses."" - James Mirtle of FromTheRink.com.
Tuesday, September 22, 2009
"Three days into living with us he taught our oldest (Darien) how to drop his gloves and fight. Todd was unbelievable. He was one of the softest-hearted people that I know for being such a tough kid." - Proud "Billet Parent" Shauna Engelhardt On ex-Regina Pat Todd Fedoruk.
Wednesday, September 23, 2009
"Obviously for every hockey player the Olympics is a dream, especially if it's held in your country." - Daniel Alfredsson (who won gold with Sweden in 2006) Chimes In On Sochi Chatter.
Thursday, September 24, 2009
"I am confident the best is yet to come for hockey in Phoenix." - Wayne Gretsky.
Friday, September 25, 2009
"You have to weigh the situation, but in the end, the intrigue of building a good hockey team outweighs all the off-ice stuff." - Coyotes' Coach Dave Tippett.
Saturday, September 26, 2009
"For Brian Burke to be writing these letters, knowing that Steve Moore wasn't healthy, knowing that he wasn't medically cleared to play hockey — and now we know all these years later he's never been cleared to play hockey again — is really to add insult to injury." - Tim Danson, Lawyer For Bertuzzi Victim Steve Moore.
Sunday, September 27, 2009
"I certainly hope his relationship with Hockey Canada will grow." - Hockey Canada president Bob Nicholson On Wayne Gretzky.
Monday, September 28, 2009
"I think he's a little jealous that Malkin has a Stanley Cup and he doesn't" - Jeremy Roenick On Mouthiness Of Ovechkin.
Tuesday, September 29, 2009
"We believe that the most important covenant we have is with the fans, we don't like to move franchises around." - Gary Bettman.
Wednesday, September 30, 2009
"It's definitely a hockey town now. Everywhere we go we see people wearing Caps jerseys and hats. When I was here my first year, there were a couple thousand people in the stands. Right now, nobody can get a ticket. It's like Canada." - Alex Ovechkin.